Posted by: Patrick | April 24, 2010

Flight 4/24/2010 – TOAL, Go Around

Today we stayed in pattern and practiced more of take offs and landings. We also practices “go arounds”, a procedure that is needed when the landing is not going to happen for any reason. Go around procedures are : 1-full power 2-carb hit off 3-flaps 10 4-tight tudder and forward presure till the positive rate of climb is established and then flaps up and continue climb.

I was able to almost compelte a full pattern and landing approach, when my CFI called for a go around on the las t second, at the begining I though I did something wrong on my approch, but after go around and being in cross wind, he mentioned that the he intentionaly called a go around, otherwise the approch was good. I’m getting more and more confidence on my approches and landing procedures.

Next week we are going to work on engine off landings and short pattern approches.

Weather Information :
METAR : KWHP 241647Z 00000KT 7SM OVC030 15/
DUTAS :
Los Angeles CA (Whiteman) [KWHP] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:47am PDT (1647Z), wind calm, visibility 7 miles, 3,000 feet overcast, temperature 15C (59F), dewpoint missing.
Burbank CA (Bob Hope) [KBUR] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:53am PDT (1653Z), wind variable at 3 knots, visibility 10 miles, 2,300 feet overcast, temperature 14C (57F), dewpoint 8C (46F), altimeter 30.12, automated station with precipitation discriminator, sea level pressure 30.09″ Hg (1019.0 hPa), temperature 14.4C (57.9F), dewpoint 8.3C (46.9F).
Van Nuys CA [KVNY] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:51am PDT (1651Z), wind calm, visibility 9 miles, 2,400 feet broken, temperature 15C (59F), dewpoint 8C (46F), altimeter 30.12, automated station with precipitation discriminator, sea level pressure 30.11″ Hg (1019.5 hPa), temperature 15.0C (59.0F), dewpoint 8.3C (46.9F).
Santa Monica CA [KSMO] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:51am PDT (1651Z), wind 250 degrees at 6 knots, visibility 9 miles, 2,100 feet scattered, 3,000 feet overcast, temperature 16C (61F), dewpoint 9C (48F), altimeter 30.13, automated station with precipitation discriminator, sea level pressure 30.13″ Hg (1020.2 hPa), temperature 15.6C (60.1F), dewpoint 8.9C (48.0F).
Mount Wilson CA [KMWS] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:00am PDT (1600Z), wind 360 degrees at 1 knot gusting to 3 knots, temperature 16C (61F), dewpoint -6C (21F) SNOW DEPTH M.
Mount Wilson CA [KMWS] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:30am PDT (1630Z), wind 350 degrees at 2 knots gusting to 3 knots, temperature 20C (68F), dewpoint -6C (21F) SNOW DEPTH M.
Los Angeles CA [KLAX] hourly observation on the 24th at 9:53am PDT (1653Z), wind 270 degrees at 8 knots, visibility 10 miles, 2,900 feet overcast, temperature 16C (61F), dewpoint 9C (48F), altimeter 30.13, automated station with precipitation discriminator, sea level pressure 30.13″ Hg (1020.2 hPa), temperature 15.6C (60.1F), dewpoint 8.9C (48.0F).

Flight Time: 1.3 h
Landings : 8

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: