Posted by: Patrick | May 15, 2010

Flight 5/15/2010, TOLA

Today was a good day. I was able to concentrate only on take offs and landings.
My take offs are getting better, although I need to pay attention to:
-Vy during climb, keep it 76
-don’t use elevator during the takeoff
-hands off the control during the roll out, till the airspeed is live.
-watch altitudes, where I’m supposed to be
-on base leg don’t loose too much altitude
-keep descending angle consistence, speed not over 70, not less than 65
-level only 3-5 feet above runway, hold it and then let the gears touch down.

I almost did 3 landings by myself (hip hip hooray), but still way to go and polish my skills.
2 or 3 more sessions, then I have to solo.

Weather Information:
METAR: KWHP 151547Z 00000KT 4SM HZ SKC 19/
DUATS:
Terminal Forecasts

Burbank CA (Bob Hope) [KBUR] terminal forecast
issued on the 15th at 3:39am PST (1139Z), valid from the 15th at 4am PST (12Z) through the 16th at 4am PST (12Z)
4am PST (12Z) wind variable at 3 knots, visibility 4 miles, mist, 800 feet overcast
9:00am PST (1700Z) wind variable at 3 knots, visibility greater than 6 miles, sky clear
12:00 noon PST (2000Z) wind 170° at 8 knots, visibility greater than 6 miles, sky clear
8:00pm PST (0400Z) wind 150° at 5 knots, visibility greater than 6 miles, sky clear
12:00 midnight PST (0800Z) wind variable at 3 knots, visibility 5 miles, mist, 800 feet overcast.

Van Nuys CA [KVNY] terminal forecast
issued on the 15th at 3:39am PST (1139Z), valid from the 15th at 4am PST (12Z) through the 16th at 4am PST (12Z)
4am PST (12Z) wind variable at 3 knots, visibility 4 miles, mist, 600 feet overcast
9:00am PST (1700Z) wind variable at 3 knots, visibility greater than 6 miles, sky clear
1:00pm PST (2100Z) wind 140° at 8 knots, visibility greater than 6 miles, sky clear
8:00pm PST (0400Z) wind 120° at 5 knots, visibility greater than 6 miles, sky clear
1:00am PST (0900Z) wind variable at 3 knots, visibility 4 miles, mist, 600 feet overcast.

GPS Track Log:

Flight Time: 1.5 h
Landings: 8

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: